Databases

Click on any of the links below to be directed to the database of your choosing. Databases are listed in alphabetical order. NOTE: If the site requires a PIN, this will most likely be the last 4 digits on your library card barcode. If you have any issues, please call us at 309-523-3440.

A to Z Food America
A to Z Food America is another of the world's largest databases of American food, culture and recipes. There are thousands of recipes, hundreds of articles and essential culinary resources. Have your library card on hand to login and get started!

A to Z Maps
A to Z Maps is the largest database of royalty free, downloadable maps available! They offer antique, climate and geology maps, plus, much more. Just have your library card handy and get started today!

A to Z The USA
This database will help students prepare state reports, assist researchers in finding detailed information about the USA and individual states as well as help teachers with study plans. Have your library card to get started today.

A to Z World Culture
Learn more about the culture of a place you are going to be visiting, also helpful for research on different parts of the world. Just have your library card ready and get started today!

A to Z World Food and Recipes
Looking for a new recipe? Want to know more about a culture's foods? Check out A to Z World Food and Recipes from anywhere with your library card.

A to Z World Travel
Do you need information about passport and visa requirements? How about what the weather is like where you are traveling to or from? Click the link above and have your library card ready to get started today!!


ABC Food America
ABC Food America is one of the world's largest databases of American food, culture and recipes. There are thousands of recipes, hundreds of articles and essential culinary resources. Very similar to "A to Z Food America." Have your library card on hand to login and get started!

ABCMouse.com
Provides a variety of courses for children from 2-6 years old. Only available for use in the library.

Ancestry.com
Through Ancestry.com you can gain instant access to more than 1 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, and a variety of genealogical research features. Only available for use in the library.

Biblioboard
Loaded with free educational resources as well as great fun reading, Biblioboard is free to access from anywhere in Illinois without a library card! Create an account to access it from anywhere in the world.

Chilton Library

Chilton Library offers you reliable car repair info with car care experts that have been in business for over 100 years.  Access this mobile responsive content 24/7 with a password from the library.

Comics Plus

Are you a comic fan!? Comics Plus has over 20,000 different comics available for all ages. It has everything from Disney princesses to superheroes, horror to non-fiction, full graphic novels to illustrated biographies and much more! Click the link above
 and look up River Valley District Library, your log in information is your library card number. NOTE: This app is best used with a PC or tablet.

DrivingTests.org
Practice exams for driving tests, motorcycle certification, and CDL. Updated regularly with the latest information and FAQ section to help answer your questions.

eRead Illinois

Hundreds of ebooks and eAudiobooks available for your ereader via the State of Illinois. 

Fantastic Fiction
Are you looking for the next book in the series you're reading? Or how about the newest book by your favorite author? Fantastic Fiction can help, no library card/login required.


Hoopla
Download hundreds of free eBooks, eAudiobooks, movies, TV shows, music and much more with your library card.

Khan Academy
Expert created classes on a wide variety of subjects that you can take any time, any where for free! No library card required.

KnowledgeCity
No more boring training programs! KnowledgeCity provides over 12,000 online video tutorials in Business Skills, Computer Software, Safety, Compliance as well as a collection of Finance Courses.
 For organizations, large or small in search of a more efficient method of training your employees, KnowledgeCity’s online video training has exactly what you’re looking for. Check out thses tutorials with your library card.

Mango Languages
Would you like to learn a new language? Check out Mango Languages from anywhere with your library card.

OverDrive
Thousands of eBooks and eAudiobooks for your Nook, Kindle, computer or tablet chosen by area librarians and ready for check out with your library card.

RBdigital Magazines

Check out RBdigital Magazines with your library card for your favorite magazines in a digital format for your tablet or other device.

Scholastic Teachables

Scholastic Teachables is an online database of tens of thousands of searchable and printable educational materials. Teacher-authors create and vet thousands of high-quality, ready-to-use resources so that parents & teachers do not have to spend countless hours searching for reliable content to support their instruction. Have your library card barcode number on-hand to access this fantastic resource!